About the Team

The Bates College men's ice hockey team competes in the American Conference of the Northeast Collegiate Hockey Association (NECHA), a regional league of the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA).

The Bobcats won four consecutive NECHA Colonial Conference regular season titles from 2006 to 2009 and have been crowned playoff champions in 2008 and 2009. In 2008, the team topped Daniel Webster College 2-1 in overtime to win the championship. In 2009, Bates shutout Keene State College 3-0 to secure their second consecutive and only hockey championships in Bates College history.

Competing as members of the Colonial North Division in 2008-2009 play, the team had a very successful season. The team was 12-1-0-0 in conference play and 16-3-0-1 overall.

In 2009-2010, the Bobcats moved to the reconfigured American East Conference of the NECHA. Competing against teams such as Boston College, Northeastern University, Bryant University, Endicott College, Bridgewater State College, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Bates went 5-6-0-1 in conference play to finish fourth in the American East and make the qualify as the final seed for the playoffs. Playing the #1 seed from the American West, the University of Massachusetts, Bates fell 5-3 in the NECHA Playoff Quarterfinals. The Bobcats ended the season with a 8-7-0-1 overall record.

The NECHA reconfigured conferences again in 2010-11 and Bates ended up in the American Conference with Bridgewater State Univresity, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Sacred Heart University. Finishing the year with a 4-4-1-1 conference record, Bates shutout Bridgewater State 4-0 in the NECHA Playoff Semifinals. In the finals, the Bobcats fell 8-4 to MIT. Bates ended the season with an overall record of 8-6-2-1.

In 2011-12, the American Conference added more teams to become an eight-team conference. Including Bates, the conference featured Westfield State University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Harvard University, Bridgewater State University, Merrimack College, Saint Anselm College, and Sacred Heart University. The Bobcats finished 7-6-0-1 in American Conference play. Qualifying as the #3 seed for the playoffs, Bates fell to #2 seeded MIT in the NECHA Playoff Semifinals.

The 2013-14 Bates Bobcats men's hockey team will continue play in the American Conference of the NECHA (a branch of the ACHA).

Our team has always represented a diverse range in talent and experience. Our roster has boasted players from California to Maine and internationally as well. Players have played at varying levels including Midget AAA, Junior B, Prep School and Public Schools.

All of our home games and practices are held at Underhill Arena, located on our campus at Bates College. Completed in 1995, the rink remains in great shape and admission to all games is free to students and the general public.

In addition to playing hockey, all of the administrative duties are the responsibility of the hockey team. Obligations range from fundraising to various other team management tasks.

For the upcoming 2017-2018 hockey season, the team has elected Sam Levin ('18) and Nick Barker ('18) as co-captains with David Katzman ('18) serving as an alternate captain.